Branch News

Calendar of Events
Westminster Election
Election Results!
2007 Election in Pictures
Opening of Parliament
Latest Poll Results!
SNP Manifesto
SNP-Dingwall at 40
History of the SNP
Join on-line now!
Pictures of Dingwall
Contact Us
SNP Structure
History of Dingwall

SNP-Dingwall Branch news -



The AGM of the Branch held in the Community Centre, Dingwall on Monday 8 February 2010 attracted a record number of members, membership of the Branch now being the highest in its history.  Reports from both the Secretary and treasurer outlined how the year 2009 had been a most successful one, all our targets in leafleting, fund raising etc. having been accomplished.  Figures produced at the meeting of the total votes cast in 2009 at every election throughout Scotland (both national and local) showed the SNP to have obtained a commanding lead over Labour, with all the other Parties having lost ground. 


The main office bearers elected for 2010 are:-


CONVENER                           Councillor Peter Cairns (Dingwall)

VICE CONVENER                 Councillor Drew Hendry (Tore)

SECRETARY                          Mrs Mechthild Graeme (Kiltarlity)

ORGANISER                          Mr Angus Walker ( North Kessock )

TREASURER                          Mrs Cathy Walker ( North Kessock )

PRESS OFFICER                    Mr John Jappy (Marybank)


In the monthly meeting that followed, concern was expressed how the Boundary Commission, which is controlled from London (the Chairman being none other than the Speaker of the House of Commons) had botched up the boundary areas in the Highlands and unless last minute attempts are successful, voters in Dingwall and The Black Isle will from 2011 onwards be voting in a constituency called "Skye, Lochaber & Badenoch".


It was reported that the announcement in the Scottish Parliament that planning permission had been granted for the new Beauly-Denny power line was welcomed by the Liberal Democrats, Labour and the Tories, and by the Highland Council, the Western Isles Council and various authorities north of Inverness.   As there would appear to be some doubt among the public about the route that the power-line will take, this has been put on the Branch web-site (see Beauly-Denny Line link on menu).


John S. Jappy

Press Officer

Moy Bridge Cottage


Ross-shire IV6 7UY

Tel 01997 433418

Maps of the Beauly-Denny line


"I found the information I was looking for on the SNP-Dingwall website, which is excellent by the way.  I strongly commend the SNP-Dingwall website."  Nicola Sturgeon.